Author Topic: Trying to order a new truck  (Read 3228 times)

Offline TexasT

• Legend in my own mind
  • Turbo Street Outlaw
  • PSI: 1
  • So, This black car is fast?
    • View Profile
Trying to order a new truck
« on: May 11 2021, 04:26:10 PM »
https://www.ramtrucks.com/bmo.ram_3500.2021.html#/build/powertrain/75270/CUT202115D23L91A/2TA/APA,PUW,X9,ESB,DFX,DME,Z3S,TCN,WBH,V9,A6B,AMP,ANT,JKV,BAJ,XAA,XHC,LPL,MR5,CLF,GFA,XMF,UAM,2GA

Wife talked me into just ordering a new truck. Son in law sell ram so we went and looked. He didn't have any 2500 or 3500 on the lot and it appears other dealers don't want to trade so we looked at used . With the state of the used market and how many miles they seem to have, the used idea as I've been doing for the last twenty yrs didn't make mathematic sense. So a new one was decided.

Went through their website and looked at what was offered. Seems the 2500 now comes equipped with "multi link" rear suspension. What is this you might ask? So did I. This means it is coil springs on the back and front . I don't know about you, but I feel a truck needs rear leafs for longevity and tough ness. I'm not buying a car. This lead me to the single wheel 3500. This unit has the rear leaves, and also comes with towing mirrors, and tow hooks where these things are options on the 2500.
Then comes the short bed angle. Used to think I needed a long bed but have been doing with a short bed for ten yrs and wife wants to drive it so short bed it is for her parking ease. Though about 4x4 but I have two and can't remember the last time I used it much less needed it so for $3k less it becomes a 2wd.