Author Topic: 3 bar map sensor  (Read 93 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline TexasT

  • Legend in my own mind
  • Turbo Street Eliminator
  • ******
  • Posts: 1823
  • PSI: 1
  • So, This black car is fast?
    • View Profile
3 bar map sensor
« on: September 06 2018, 10:51:05 PM »
https://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-Pressure-Sensor-MAP-Chevy-GM-Vehicles-3-BAR-12223861-16040749-12223749/192342923574?hash=item2cc8881936:g:WtkAAOSwoH1Zbt Ef

Is this what I need for the power logger to log the boost? Not an actual gm but the stuff GM sells is just imported stuff.

TIA
« Last Edit: September 07 2018, 06:56:53 AM by TexasT »
Rich

"Goals without actions are just dreams."

Offline Forzfed

  • Turbo Street Modified
  • *****
  • Posts: 986
  • PSI: 3
  • Boost n00b
    • View Profile
Re: 3 bar map sensor
« Reply #1 on: September 07 2018, 09:56:05 AM »
That is what you need for the Power Logger.  That is crazy cheap!  But I wonder how accurate and precise it is?  I remember calibrating pressure sensors in school and you couldn't get the cheap ones to be accurate or precise.  Accuracy is the closest to the correct value and precision is the repeatability of the devise.  Which is will it repeat the 50% value or will it come to 45% one time then 48% or 53%.  It can be very annoying trying to calibrate one of these devices!!

Offline TexasT

  • Legend in my own mind
  • Turbo Street Eliminator
  • ******
  • Posts: 1823
  • PSI: 1
  • So, This black car is fast?
    • View Profile
Re: 3 bar map sensor
« Reply #2 on: September 07 2018, 11:37:37 AM »
I saw one on the full throttle speed and it was like $80 or something so I thought I do a search. There were cheaper ones and I didn't keep searching as the were going up. I would think these are made right next door or across the street from the "real" GM units. I'm sure they all come from china
Rich

"Goals without actions are just dreams."

Offline Forzfed

  • Turbo Street Modified
  • *****
  • Posts: 986
  • PSI: 3
  • Boost n00b
    • View Profile
Re: 3 bar map sensor
« Reply #3 on: September 07 2018, 01:02:45 PM »
If your not using it for WOT AFR fuel correction it probably wouldn't be too bad.  And you can always put in the correction factor to make it read close to the boost gauge.

Offline TexasT

  • Legend in my own mind
  • Turbo Street Eliminator
  • ******
  • Posts: 1823
  • PSI: 1
  • So, This black car is fast?
    • View Profile
Re: 3 bar map sensor
« Reply #4 on: September 07 2018, 01:30:29 PM »
What kind of fuel correction does wot require? I'm thinking "open the flood gates" and let tat dog eat! Or somethin like that.
I've Been reading up on the powerlogger thing with the sd2, no I don't have an sd2, but it seems that there is quite a bit of adjustability. I'm gonna stick with the 5.7 for now and see hoe that goes.
Rich

"Goals without actions are just dreams."

Offline Steve Wood

  • Turbo Street Outlaw
  • *******
  • Posts: 7826
  • PSI: 29
    • View Profile
    • http://www.vortexbuicks-etc.com/
Re: 3 bar map sensor
« Reply #5 on: September 07 2018, 01:47:52 PM »
The 5.7 is ideal.  The map is not used for fueling corrections so it does not matter if it is super accurate.  Only if you are using alky which is triggered by the map would I spend the money for a good one.  I don't think the GM clone is considered good any more.  A lot of them leak right out of the box.
Steve Wood

http://www.vortexbuicks-etc.com

A lot of broken parts does not make you a racer; it makes you a slow learner.

Offline TexasT

  • Legend in my own mind
  • Turbo Street Eliminator
  • ******
  • Posts: 1823
  • PSI: 1
  • So, This black car is fast?
    • View Profile
Re: 3 bar map sensor
« Reply #6 on: September 07 2018, 01:53:37 PM »
No alky yet. Probably would spend money on tires to hook it up before adding more powwr
Rich

"Goals without actions are just dreams."


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo