Author Topic: My 1986 Grand National (re) Build Thread  (Read 49519 times)

Offline GavinHunyady

• Turbo Street Limited
  • PSI: 1
  • Boost n00b
    • View Profile
My 1986 Grand National (re) Build Thread
« on: January 02 2015, 10:26:04 AM »
I figure I'll start a thread here to go with my build this winter.

I've been publishing some youtube videos to go along with it, but here is the back story and the plan.

I bought the car in 97 when I graduated high school. it had 60k on it, and I drove it as my daily for about a year. it was in great shape, all stock, but it burned up a trans that year. I got the trans rebuilt by a local very reputable builder, and put a maxeffort chip in it with all the supporting mods. Fast forward 10years, the car sits in my garage 90% of the time, due to a handful of chronic issues, leaks, powersteering, brakes, dead A/C etc.

I, on the other hand, am considerable better than I was in college when it comes to fabricating and building cars... and now I have a real place to work on cars and all the equipment I need. (I've raced oval track cars for the last 12years, built a lot of different cars and engines). So now I'm setting out to rebuild the car right: freshen up the top end of the engine, ditch the powermaster, put a real turbo and converter in, update the tune, clean up all the chronic issues, put a nice exhaust kit on it, not some homemade janky crap.

So far, I've torn the engine down to the short block, and built it back up:
freshened heads, blended the bowls, valve job, .005" deck face
stock cam was KO'd, replaced with a roller from Full Throttle, harland sharp 1.55 rockers
rebuilt the front cover, hand surfaced the oil pump plate, replaced with stock height gears
did the RJC bullet proof headgaskets, port matched the intake, and put it all back together

mods all together are:
RJC power plate, 62mm ported TB, alkycontrol, 340pump, 16930 converter, 3" terry houston DP, 6265 turbo