Author Topic: Freshen up a motor  (Read 13349 times)

Offline YGspider

• The Turbo Geek
  • Turbo Street Limited
  • PSI: 0
  • 87 Turbo T
    • View Profile
Freshen up a motor
« on: August 06 2013, 08:49:34 PM »
Ok so my question to you engine tech guys is what is my best options to make a reliable strong block with good internals. Basically this fall the motor is coming out and I want to go roller cam but I'm going to leave the hydraulic lifters. My goals for this motor are to make use of a TE44 turbo full potential lets say to a 600plus HP capability and beyond in terms of reliabilities I want a good motor. What are some things I will need I'm very new to engine builds.
Forged pistons?
Studded block?
New crank?
All new bearings all around.
Would there be a lot of benefit in going with roller lifters?     
Any links to parts and parts numbers as well as little advice from your own finds would be welcome.
 :powersix: :cheers:
Stratman: Is it even running?

Offline Charlief1

• Just another kinky six
  • Turbo Street Eliminator
  • PSI: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Freshen up a motor
« Reply #1 on: August 06 2013, 10:25:18 PM »
A TE-44 won't make 600 HP by itself. You'd need another power adder like nitrous to get there. Here's some links that should give you some idea of what it's capable of.

http://www.gnttype.org/techarea/pictureguides/turboguide/turboguide.html

http://www.gnttype.org/techarea/pictureguides/turboguide/turbos.html

http://www.gnttype.org/techarea/turbo/turboupdate.html

And remember, when dealing with children, silence may be golden but duct tape is silver.

Offline YGspider

• The Turbo Geek
  • Turbo Street Limited
  • 87 Turbo T
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 06 2013, 10:38:27 PM »