Author Topic: axle seals and brgs. install  (Read 1920 times)

Offline Iownagn-gs

• Bone Stock
  • PSI: 0
    • View Profile
axle seals and brgs. install
« on: December 11 2012, 09:23:31 PM »
Just removed the diff cover to begin the changeover.  As I mentioned before, I've done this to my other GN but it does not have lim. slip.  Also, I did this about 7 years ago and I must be growing cobwebs in the grey matter.  I remember removing the carrier case bolt and sliding out the carrier pin which made getting to the clips a lot easier.  The only difference I can see is now I think I need to remove the double "S" shaped tension band to get to the "C" clips.  With removal of the large pin I was able to have someone push in slightly on the axles to get to the C clips.  Before I go wild on this one I need some advice as to the correct procedure.

Thanks,
Walt

Offline PacecarTA

• Turbo Street Limited
  • PSI: 2
  • im not a newbie
    • View Profile
Re: axle seals and brgs. install
« Reply #1 on: December 12 2012, 12:15:17 PM »
take car out of gear (neutral)
remove wheels
remove axle cover
remove the cross pin retainer bolt (5/16 wrench)
slide the cross pin out
push axles in and retrieve clips with a magnet

no need to remove the preload spring

dont be surprised if the carrier  retainer bolt is broken
its usually broken at the last thread leaving the pin and a thread stuck in the housing which prevents removal of the cross pin

it should look like this  (napa has them)
gm  14056196,  napa bk6351023,  summit rat 5811

« Last Edit: December 12 2012, 12:33:19 PM by PacecarTA »
Paul   Magnabuick.com ..NJ rep
86GN pump gas 93/alky 109, iron heads, stock mains, no girdle  9.72 @139
best 1/8 6.13 @ 112 ,best mph 144
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vSKzv7ej7Cc
87 GN TTop 109 ,93/alky , 9.82 @ 139 20.6psi , best 1/8th 6.18@113.2
87 GnX'd 
87 GN TTop..stock as can b

Offline Iownagn-gs

• Bone Stock
  • PSI: 0
    • View Profile
Re: axle seals and brgs. install